Don’t mess around this New Year, have a Designated Driver
The new year is fast approaching, and if you were one of those disciplined individuals who stuck to your 2022 resolution I applaud you, and honestly, want your autograph.
There are a plethora of activities scheduled for New Year’s Eve, including parties, concerts, and amazing restaurant offerings, and I just hope you and your family (or friends) have something wonderful lined up.
The only thing I ask is don’t drink and drive.
Montana as a state continues to have one of the highest fatality rates in the nation, for the number of deaths caused by impaired drivers. Last year (2021) there were 240 fatalities on Montana roads, to date this year we show 193 fatalities. Data from 2020 shows that 66% of all fatalities in Montana were the result of impaired driving. That number is far too high.
The local police and highway patrol will have an exaggerated presence throughout Butte Saturday, so don’t take chances, have a designated driver, call a cab, or get your crew an Uber.
Let’s say you dodge the odds of an accident, and you are pulled over. With a First offense DUI on your record, you will spend up to 6 months in jail, you’ll be fined up to $1000, and you will lose your driver’s license for 6 months. If you are guilty of a first-time DUI you will have to complete a substance abuse test, and classes as well.
If you are pulled over and refuse the breath test, your license will be suspended for 6 months.
So don’t mess around, have a Great New Year’s celebration but make sure you have a DD!