After an eventful State Tournament weekend that saw action from many area high school teams, the Southwest Montana All Star Classic is ready for its 12th showcasing of some of the best players our region Tuesday night at Kelvin Sampson Court at the Montana Tech HPER complex.

graphic courtesy Butte Chamber of Commerce/Event Brite
graphic courtesy Butte Chamber of Commerce/Event Brite

The girls will tip off at 5:30pm with the boys slated for a 7:30pm tipoff time with three-point contests taking place at both halftimes.  Players selected were nominated by their coaches and a final selection was made by a panel of journalists and broadcasters.  "We believe we have assembled some of the best high school players in the state," Butte Chamber of Commerce Director Stephanie Sorini said in a press release.

Schools invited to nominate players are, alphabetically, Anaconda, Beaverhead County, Butte Central, Butte High, Drummond, Ennis, Granite, Harrison, Jefferson, Lima, Powell County, Sheridan, Twin Bridges, West Yellowstone, and Whitehall.  The All Stars will be grouped into two teams, Treasure State and Big Sky.

Coaching the Big Sky Boys will be Tanner Neumann and Heath Hansen and their roster will be made up of Butte Central's Dougie Peoples, Kyle Holter, Eric Loos, Jack Keeley and Zane Moodry along with Butte High's Casey Merrifield, Jace Stenson and Cameron Gurnsey.  Along with the Butte contingent the Big Sky All Stars will feature Granite's Andrew Tallon, Joe Cima and Sage Buus of Harrison, Cade Cathey of Sheridan and Gavin French of Whitehall.

On the girls side, the Big Sky All Stars will be coached by Hannah Konen and Lacey Wood and will feature Brooke Badovinac and Mollie Drew of Butte Central; Laura Rosenleaf, Emmarie Richards and Brityn Stewart of Butte High; Izzy Morris, Austin May and Mackenzie Layng of Jefferson High; Allie Dale, Emma Konen, Ayla Janzen and Kyle Pancost of Twin Bridges and Maxine Hoagland of Whitehall.

The Treasure State Boys will be coached by John Hanson and Andrew Zier and will consist of Gabe Galle and River Hurley of the Anaconda Copperheads; Eli Nourse, Carter Curnow, Treyton Graham and Caden Hansen of the Dillon Beavers; Brody Rasor of the Drummond Trojans; Clinton Buyan of the Ennis Mustangs; Zach Zody of the Jefferson Panthers; Kynd Hildreth of the Lima Bears; Hunter Steinbach of the Powell County Wardens; and Taylor Hales and Josh Everest of the West Yellowstone Wolverines.

Treasure State Girls will be coached by Dakota Norris and Henry Huber and will be made up of Mariyah Lunceford and Meela Mitchell of Anaconda; Halle Fitzgerald, Kylie Konen, Sydney Peterson, Leila Stennerson and Kenleigh Graham of Dillon; Kimber Parsons of Drummond; Marisa Snyder and Marlyssa Ledgerwood of Ennis; Rachel Ward of Granite; Skyla Pierson of Powell County and Trista Finney of West Yellowstone.

Advance tickets are available online or at the Butte Chamber of Commerce.

Know Your Butte History: Standing Mine Headframes

Dozens of mine headframes used to dot the Butte hill but most have since been torn down or swallowed by the Pit. Here are the ones that still tower proudly over our town.

Some unique rentals around Butte Montana

a look at some of the more interesting rentals in and around Butte Montana

Five Things You Must See When Visiting Butte, Montana

Butte, Montana is a history buff's dream. With a history of being a rough-and-tumble mining camp, Butte is home to one of the largest Historic Districts in the nation and a has some fascinating things to see whether you're visiting for a day or for the season.


More From 95.5 KMBR